J.Puccinelli

Going Back To Cali

In fashion, Los Angeles, Work-Fits on December 2, 2010 at 3:31 pm

During a random YouTube binge I ran across an old school gem: Going Back to Cali by LL Cool J.  As I watched the video two things happened:

1.  I was able to recognize a lot of places in LA – rad!

2. It hit me that this video was made in 1989 and the fashion in it is pretty similar to what we’re wearing now.

Here are four pieces I think will be timeless – ok let’s be real, these are four pieces I hope will never go out of style.

Going Back To Cali
  • Stripes: I LOVE stripes, and have loved them for as long as I can remember. They are so versatile : with white shorts and sperry’s they’re the perfect touch to a Hampton’s inspired outfit – with a tight black skirt, suede pumps and attitude you are ready to turn heads at any upscale lounge – or throw a striped shirt on under a boyfriend blazer, with dark skinny’s, and quilted flats, voila  you are work place chic!
  • Wayfarers: Classic. So classic that any age, shape, height, or outfit can be topped off with a pair of these.  I’ve worn them with sweats and then with a dress/heels. I’ve seen every one from tweens to senior citizens rock these shades and frankly, they look out of sight (a little phrase I picked up from one of my 80 yr old great aunts at Thanksgiving).
  • Tall boots: In Cali people wear boots year round – it’s strange but when hobo-chic is the city’s signature style you tend to adjust.  In the summer, tall boots look killer with a print dress and a jean vest, in the winter, pull them over a tights and toss on a warm baggy sweater…love.love.love.
  • Big fat gold watch: I know gold goes through phases when it’s really classy and then really tacky – I’m praying to the fashion Gods that it stays classy for at least another 10 years!  I’m a firm believer that a bold time piece is the finishing piece to any ensemble.  In the Going Back to Cali video, LL Cool J’s watch is sooooo gaudy but soooo bold!

Going Back To Cali by jayers21 featuring silk t shirts

Leave a Reply

