J.Puccinelli

Short Hair…well you know the rest

In hair care, inspiration on August 8, 2013 at 6:22 pm

In light of Queen Bey’s recent chop I thought I would touch on my own decision to LET IT GO.  Let it go as in almost cut all of my hair off. First of all I think we can all admit that we’ve heard over and over again that a woman’s hair is her glory. For a black woman especially you spend years growing your hair, nurturing it, straightening it or wearing it natural. It’s a sign of beauty in society and really a safety blanket for a lot of us. At least I know it was for me.

Back in 2007 I had to cut my hair due to it being damaged and I hated it. Then in 2008 I got the worst “trim” of my life.  Can you say traumatized? From there I never cut it again. As a matter of fact I’ve never so much as a highlighted my hair. So about two years ago when my hair reached a little past shoulder length I was through the roof with excitement. BUT I really loved the idea of cutting my hair into a pixie.  HOW FIERCE RIGHT? Never did it – never even got close. Talked a lot of game but could never pull the trigger. Frankly, I was SCARED and crippled by none other than… FEAR. My hair was still defining me, it was still an element of comfort, and I wasn’t ready to let go.

Fast forward to 2013 and I’m promising my then fiance Pooch (who was 110% for this and wanted me to do it so badly for years) that I would cut my hair post wedding. So it’s a few months after our wedding and I’m looking at my wardrobe and my hair that has been stuffed into a top knot/bun thing for weeks on end – and began thinking to myself ‘wow I’m really ‘plain jane-ing’ it up these days’.  Like I told my friends, I felt like a soccer mom – a cute, young, pulled together soccer mom. BUT STILL.

Then it hit me – I’m playing it safe. OMG I’ve gotten to the point where I’m SCARED to take risks. What would happen if I cut my hair off?

First thought: I won’t be able to do all of the cool styles I love to do with my hair.

Second thought: Oh wait…I don’t do cool styles with my hair.

Third thought: Why not…

Fourth thought: Cue jeopardy music because I had no answer for ‘Why not?’

So I ran it by two close friends (Jammie & Whitney) to get their opinion and for accountability. This time I was not chickening out.

Next thing I know – I’ve made my appointment….

Image

ImageImageImage

Image

Whoa!! Can I just tell you I felt like I gained a whole lotta FIERCENESS?! Holy Cow! I have NEVER felt more feminine, more confident and more free than I do now!!

Image

It sounds cheesy but we are NOT our hair ladies (and gents) and we’re also not our comfort zone.  If there’s something you’ve been wanting to do – do it! Enjoy it, embrace the change and own your beauty. We only get one shot at this thing and I personally don’t want to look back and say, shoulda, coulda, woulda.

One of my biggest inspirations was this chick Shameless Maya. Check her out she is incredible – she cut off her gorgeous curls and did it just because she was afraid to and didn’t want fear to hold her back!

What’s a change you’ve been wanting to make for a long time but you’re too scared to do?  Can I challenge you to something? Do it. Be fearless You’ll love it – Queen Bey and I do!

xx

Jess

  1. Hey Jess! I am planning on having a hair cut too. I have the same hair like u, but when its getting wet, it goes back to curly again. So how do u do it when its wet and curly? what products do u use? 🙂

Leave a Reply

